Arizona residents could qualify for rental assistance from Department of Economic Security, Federal Government


David Jackmanson (Flickr)

Arizona residents could receive rental assistance from the federal government and Department of Economic Security

Ole Olafson, Reporter

Beginning Feb. 23 residents of 12 Arizona counties can apply for rental assistance under a program from the Arizona Department of Economic Security (DES).

Renters in Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Navajo, Santa Cruz, Pinal, Mohave, and Yavapai Counties will be eligible for up to $3,500 per month for 15 months of combined rent and utility assistance.

Renters qualify for assistance if they have received notices of eviction, utility shutoff, past due rent or utilities or other unsafe or unstable housing.  Also, if a member of the household or renter is eligible for unemployment insurance or has experienced financial hardship because of the pandemic.  Lastly, renters can qualify if the household income is the same or less than 80% of the Area Median Income.

According to Arizona Gov. Doug Ducey’s office, qualifying residents of larger counties like Maricopa, Pima and Yuma will be able receive assistance from programs funded directly from the federal government.

The funds for assisting Arizona residents are part of the recently passed federal COVID-19 relief package.