Tampa Bay Buccaneers first team to play in Super Bowl at home stadium, Tom Brady could win seventh title


Kathy (Flickr)

If the Buccaneers win the Super Bowl at home this year, Tom Brady will have helped two different cities to hold multiple pro sports titles

Michael Russell, Reporter

Super Bowl LV (55) will be played this Sunday at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers are the first NFL team to play in a Super Bowl at their home stadium.

Super Bowl scheduling is done years in advance.  In this case, long before Tom Brady signed with the Buccaneers last spring, instantly transforming them into a title contender.

This will be Tom Brady’s tenth Super Bowl.

No other player comes close in this category. There are two players with six Super Bowl appearances, one of those is placekicker Stephen Gostkowski, Brady’s longtime teammate in New England.

Hosting the Super Bowl will cap off an incredible and historic run for Tampa Bay sports franchises.

March, 2020 saw the Buccaneers sign Brady.

In September, the Tampa Bay Lightning won the NHL Stanley Cup.

Last October, the Tampa Bay Rays played in the MLB World Series.

In November, Tampa Bay Rowdies advanced to the USL Championship game against Phoenix Rising which was canceled due to coronavirus.

All this brings us back to the Super Bowl on Sunday and Brady and the Bucs opportunity to make more history.

The Super Bowl is typically the most-watched U.S. TV broadcast of any kind. In fact, 29 of the top 30 broadcasts of all time are Super Bowls. The only non-Super Bowl on the list is the 1983 finale of M*A*S*H*, currently in ninth place.

The most-watched U.S. broadcast of all time was Super Bowl XLIX (49) played on February 1, 2015 in Glendale, Ariz., watched by over 114 million viewers.

It was Tom Brady’s New England Patriots winning that year, one of Brady’s six Super Bowl wins so far, also the most ever.

Brady and the Buccaneers will be facing the Kansas City Chiefs who won last year’s Super Bowl.

Notably, the Chiefs also played in Super Bowl 1, a loss to the Green Bay Packers in 1967. The trophy for winning the Super Bowl is called the Lombardi trophy, named after that team’s coach, Vince Lombardi.

Coincidentally, the last team to win two Super Bowls in a row was Brady’s New England Patriots in 2004-2005.

Kickoff is scheduled for Sunday at 6:30 PM EST.